What are some things you wished industrial designers knew about hardware design/engineering?

I’m an industrial designer with minimal hardware experience. Is there anything you wished industrial (or product) designers knew about tools, skills, or info relating to hardware design? Either within your own scope of experience, or based on what you’ve seen in the wild.

I want to better serve the hardware and engineering folks I work with, so we can make everyone’s job easier. In the words of Jerry Maguire, “Help me to help you.”

Thanks!

Also, I forgot to mention: It’s my first post, and I’m super stoked to have found this community!

1 Like

Hey Daniel,

It’s great to have you with us! A good place to start would be at a local hackathon! They’re a fantastic place to learn how to work with hardware folks in-person. Aside from those, using Upverter by forking existing projects is another way too!

You’ve already tried the tutorial, so you’re well on your way! :slight_smile:

Those are both really great ideas. Thanks!

1 Like

Not a problem, Daniel!

Hi Daniel,

I have been teaching electronics and hardware design to industrial designers and media and interaction designers for a couple of years now. At the start of each class, I tell my students that their goal is not to try to become electrical engineers, but to acquire sufficient knowledge about what can be done and what cannot to be able to have a good collaboration. So you don’t necessarily need to understand the inner workings of anything, as long as you have a good grasp of how everything works together.